A password-protected directory is a folder that can't be accessed unless the proper login credentials are supplied. This could be a whole website or simply one page which is in a subfolder. If you attempt to open this type of a directory, you shall see a web browser pop-up where you have to enter a username and also a password. If you enter the right ones, you'll be able to continue surfing around the content with no need to do anything additional. In case the login credentials aren't accurate, however, you'll see a message that you are not authorized to see the content. If this function is activated, you won't be able to open a file even though you may have a direct link. The option is quite useful if you want to limit the access to some content or if you are developing an Internet site and you do not want visitors to be able to access it before it is ready.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting

Creating a password-protected area will take no more than a couple of mouse clicks and a few seconds if you host your Internet sites in a shared hosting account with us. You will not have to do anything challenging - you'll need to select a domain/subdomain, to choose which folder under it must be secured, and then to type in the login name and password which will be used to access that folder. If a number of individuals require their own login details, there shall not be a problem to create numerous different usernames with access to the same exact folder. All protected folders will appear with a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you'll always know where this feature is active. If you'd like to turn off the protection function for any folder, you can deactivate it from the very same section of the Control Panel in which you have enabled it.